Interview with Todd Keffer II founder of No Culture Records

image

       (Album art by Derek Hagler)

Down at MANIFEST 2016, I had the pleasure of interviewing Todd Keffer II. Founder of No Culture Records.

(1).
Me: So tell us a bit about yourself Mr. Keffer…

Todd: I currently go to Marshall University, I am a Business major, and I love music.

(2).
Me: When, and what age were you when you got the idea to start producing music?

Todd: 2013, and I was twenty years old.

(3).
Me: When did the record lable come up?

Todd: I had just gotten out of a rocky relationship, very depressed time for me; I was at rock bottom.
One day it just came to me. It saved my life, I honestly did’nt want to go through life anymore, until I decided to do this.

(4).
Me: Being a vocalist for Backup Martyr do you prefer Rock over Hip-Hop?

Todd: Old me would’ve said yes, but in the past few years I’ve grown to love them equally.

(5).
Me: Regarding a Sin Revel song, is Gorge the dog, a real dog?

Todd: Yes, and he’s an awesome dog.

(6).
Me: Tell us a bit about Backup Martyr…

Todd: Myself and good friend Wade Milbee started our band back in 2011, we are a two person rock band for now. Though we might actually have a drummer now.

image

( Todd, Wade, and there new album cover by Derek Hagler. Designed for “Dinosaurs ate my Bible- EP” coming soon)

image

         (Wade Milbee, jamming)

(7).
Me: I’d like to talk about this album: No Culture volume 1: A Society of Dead Wolves and Spoiled Souls, speaking of which what is it like working with Green T?

Todd: (*starts laughing) I’m trying to think of an appropriate way to put this, well he’s the first person i worked and recorded with, it’s a trip.

(8).
Me: Who is this Sin Revel?

Todd: Sam, I can never pronounce his last name, but he is also the drummer for Cricketman.

(9).
Me: What do you think about the Jester, does he have future projects with No Culture?
Everyone is hyped up and relating to this track, “Self Destruct”.

Todd: Yes absolutely, whenever he is ready.

(10).
Me: Wonderful work on the intermissions, who influenced you for this style of chopped up trip beats?

Todd: I don’t consider tuem trip beats but i would say “Everything is Terrible” have influenced me the most.

(11).
Me: What do they stand for?

Todd: They stand for Jim Baker is a fraud him and his 42 buckets.

(12).
Me: After the second intermission those tracks also hyped up fans, will there be future projects with them aswell?

Todd: Yes!!!

(13).
Me: Are there any upcoming shows with the whole group that is on Volume 1?

Todd: No not at this time.

(14).
Me: Would you like to add anything to this interview?

Todd: I would like to change Huntington into a better place with the music that we make.

image

               (Todd Keffer II)

image

(No Culture & Friends: A Society of Dead Wolves & Spoiled Souls)
Link to this album is below:

Direct link to the album:
http://www.noculturewv.com/

No Culture on Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/noculturewv/

No Culture website:
http://www.noculturewv.com/

Wade’s Facebook :
https://m.facebook.com/wade.milbee?tsid=0.8368445090018213&source=typeahead

(Authors Notes)
Had a wonderful time at MANIFEST 2016, it was fun getting to know Mr. Keffer, I see big things coming from him and his Label. Can’t wait to listen to all the new music coming soon. Much love to you all.

Sarah Ann Waldron (SAW)

Leave a comment